What would you do if you weren’t Afraid?

 

baby
pinterest.com

 

 I used to be so afraid of so many things, but i was especially afraid of making a fool out of myself when trying something new and being ridiculed in public for not getting something right. In school i never looked forward to class presentations because it came with a lot of anxiety for me. I was practically petrified of public speaking. When it was my turn to present, i will stutter all through the presentation even if I had mastered the topic, I was always filled with self-loathing after each presentation.

There I was, facing a class of less than 50 students with a lecturer who I know, isn’t going to bite me yet I was still afraid. I admired other colleagues who were saying rubbish or had not mastered the presentation but still presented with an air of confidence even if the lecturer criticized everything they said.

dem
harrypotter.wikia.com

”Avoiding danger is no safer in the long run than outright exposure. The fearful are caught as often as the bold”. Helen Keller

 Fear is limiting, it’s the parasite that sucks out all the good thoughts in your life like a dementor from the harry porter series, fear keeps us from thinking about positive outcomes but only thinking about what could go wrong with that new idea you have, the project you want to start , the rejection you might get if you audition for that role you want or any role at all. Fear makes us stick to only what we think we are good at and turn a blind eye to other promising areas of our lives.

er
from the movie insideout

”Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the ark, professionals built the Titanic”. Unknown

 You want to be a writer but you are afraid of not getting you book published or it not  being a commercial success , you want to be a motivational speaker but you are afraid of facing a crowd for fear that you might say something wrong or that you would be no good at it.

fear1

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us’’. mariannewilliamson

But sincerely if we don’t step out of our comfort zones, we may never find out if we could become what we desire most to be. Don’t let fear stop you. Believing in you self and letting go of your fear is  like a journey ,it doesn’t promise to be all rosy but it’s better than staying in one place petrified of your fear without facing it. Self-discovery and self-confidence have helped me let go of my fears and take baby steps into embracing things I didn’t feel capable of doing in the past.

293077176_1378824589

In my previous post I talked about five practical principles for overcoming fear. Am on a journey towards self-awareness, self-love and finding inner peace, I invite you to take this journey with me on my blog. Till my next post I leave you with this, Fear is a feeling not a reality and like a wise man once said ”Behind your feelings is nothing but behind every principle is a promise”.

Follow me on

Twitter: @bennyini

Facebook: Usoro Benita

Google+: Iniobongusoro

Leave a Reply

